End of Book One: Good Thing There is a Cliffhanger

Well, here I am. Back in New Hampshire! The boat is safely dry docked at St. Augustine Marine Center and ready for repairs at a safe space away from hurricanes. What a summer. I have never learned as much about myself and about everything else between as I have these last two and a half months at sea. I learned how small I really am and how little all my past fears and worries really mattered. This world is out of my control and is something I have to put in God’s hands.

You could say this is the end of book one. What’s in book two you may ask? I may have to put the sailing on hold due to my new job in D.C., but my sea adventures are definitely not over. I talked to a fascinating couple who are living in Granada, and they asked me if I would like to be crew with them from Granada up through the Bermuda Triangle. I may take them up on that once I get back up to a financial place where I can do so. Don’t be surprised if this blog appears with an update that I have joined a crew headed to Granada or France in the next couple years. It is a distinct possibility.

I gained a new respect for the ocean on this voyage. It is an unforgiving weapon of mother nature never to be taken lightly. I also learned about the kindness of individuals that exists across cultures and societies. Whether it was a Cuban family giving us food and water when we had almost none left, or a Bahamian native giving my dad a place to stay when disaster struck, generosity was out there. The world is a crazy place full of crazy people, but there are good people who trump all of that.

I have to rant quickly with one life lesson that I have held very dearly from the trip: Be thankful for what you have. It took me three months living under my means to realize how fortunate I was to grow up with the family and resources that I did. Some of this may sound cliche, but it has to be said. It is cliche for a reason. It is overused, because people forget the meaning behind the word “thankful” and throw it around like it is an easy piece of human perception. It is not easy to be thankful until you have things taken away from you, sometimes voluntarily and often involuntarily. Always look around and thank God for what you have. Now, I am off on a tangent, but I had to at least touch upon this.

So what is next? I am back in New Hampshire for less than a month before I move to D.C. to work for International Justice Mission, a non-profit human rights organization focusing efforts to stop violence and sex trafficking worldwide. It will be an eye opening experience for sure! Before I leave, I will be playing music in the New England area with the lovely Alli Beaudry and hopefully will conquer the White Mountains and some Jenness Beach waves as well! And now for the most important part of this post…

Thank you.

Thank you to the best crew I ever could have asked for: I had Matt Cambria, one of the smartest guys I know and an amazing first mate, Bobby Godfrey, a killer asset to the crew with a disgusting amount of knowledge about diesel engines and of-course Dom Neves, a problem-solving mastermind with a great sense of humor.

Thank you to all my friends in school or out of school who smiled and pushed me to do this trip. Thank you to my dad for teaching and training me survival skills for living on the ocean, while also providing support on and off the boat. Thank you to my mom for not freaking out when I almost died in a squall. Thank you to my siblings for always coming to my aid when I needed them.  Thank you to Andy Olsen for filming my kick-starter and mini-film and be the amazingly generous and chill friend that he always has been. Thank you to Larry and Gretchen McCracken for helping us along the way and showing their generosity in SO many different avenues of the trip. They gave us everything from food and shelter to long lasting friendships and survival advice. Looking forward to many years of that to come! Thank you to Sean Finn for the advice and tips but more than that the encouragement we needed to continue on. Thank you to Larry Martin for letting us borrow foul weather gear for the trip and all the work he did to monitor weather and help guide us safely back. Thank you to my Uncle Dale and his family for being a support I needed at a crucial time and for being the most awesome family I could ask for. Thank you to Doug and Ela Miller for being a power couple and helping me with my journey as well! Thank you to the whole Chestnut Hill Church Community for keeping me in their prayers and monitoring my trip down the coast. HUGE thank you to ALL my extended family, especially Uncle Steve and Aunt Holly and Aunt Candi and Uncle Greg as well as Aunt Lorraine for sending encouragement and giving support along the way in ways more powerful than they knew. Thank you to Ansley Beaver for giving us a killer time in Jacksonville and being so charitable with her time. Thank you to Robert Philips for helping us do wiring on the boat and prepping it before departing. Thank you all of Matt’s family and all his friends who showed their support as well. Thank you to EVERYONE who had such generous hearts and warm hospitality. This is just the beginning of a list. I hope to thank you all in person, but this gives you an idea of the assortment of people who pushed this trip forward. Signing off for now. Next stop D.C. and then…. Granada?

Stay Tuned,

Ryan

IMG_0129[1]

2 thoughts on “End of Book One: Good Thing There is a Cliffhanger

    1. Through this is a year later, I can give you an update! I’ve been in DC for a year working for IJM and I’m heading to the peace corps! You can expect lots of updates from Rwanda!

      Like

Leave a Reply

