Chapter II – VI

The voyage begins in three days! My amazing friend Andrew Olsen will be accompanying me on a sunrise sail tomorrow morning to begin working on filming a kickstarter campaign. More details on that will follow soon. Instead of providing many small updates on the tedious hours of boat labor that have taken place this last month, I decided to write a summary highlighting some of the preparations and boat excursions I have completed since my last post. Here are some brief documentations of what has been happening!

The boat was dry docked for the winter so one of the first steps for this voyage was to repaint her hull, as well as fixing a couple leakage areas around the base of the propeller. It may come as a surprise to you, but one of my objectives for this trip, is to keep as much water out of the boat as possible. Staying afloat, is crucial for a successful adventure at sea. I learned that from my Sailing Manual. Despite having glue and paint dried to my hands for the five days straight, the dry dock preparations generally went smoothly.

Here are a couple quick shots of drydocked Eagle Wings.
Eagle Wings being scraped and repainted at it’s dry dock.
2015-05-07 19.17.11
“Diamond in the rough” aka “Sanded and scraped-down Eagle Wings”

On May 7th, we lowered Eagle Wings into the water a couple miles down river from her mooring at Pepperrell Cove, Kittery Point, Maine. Since then, I have been working relentlessly to clean her. I can’t have my first apartment out of college be a dirty or leaking one. Things may be a cluttered mess during repairs and installments of the Fish Finder, GPS, and AutoPilot, but one of the necessities of the trip is to keep the boat as clean and ship shape as possible.We must avoid rust, rotting wood, and mildew if this boat is to survive over two months at sea.

At this point, it is time to introduce the world to my first mate, Matthew Cambria. Matt and I went to high school together, and he happens to be one of the most smart and down-to-earth people I know, hence why I invited him to be the only other permanent member of the trip. Matt generally seems to enjoy long walks on the beach, and he also just graduated from Brandeis University in Boston with a double major in physics and English. Here is a shot of the man himself prior to one of our last test runs of Eagle Wings off the coast of Portsmouth, New Hampshire.

Matt Cambria
Matthew “Manbun” Cambria
2015-05-10 17.55.56
Peperrell Cove, Kittery, Maine

Cambria and I took the boat out of Pepperrell Cove on a beautiful windy day, and we hoped to practice some maneuvers. Winds were recorded at 25 mph with 30mph gusts. Eagle Wings held up extremely well, and we were able to record speeds of up to 7 knots. After such a successful trip with Cambria, i used that momentum and continued to do repairs and trips out to the Isle of Shoals for the next five days straight. After my graduation ceremony at Saint Anselm College last Sunday, i have continued to work vigorously on the interior and exterior of the boat, mainly due to the help and wise words of my dad and “sensei” Earl Sandford. His work and ideas are the reason this trip came together so perfectly. Here are a few shots of sailing trips from the last week or so.

2015-05-10 17.49.42
My dad Earl Sandford and myself realizing our dinghy is a big cramped.
2015-05-09 16.00.43
Full sail, in the water at last!

So that is the “quick” summary of what’s been happening aboard Eagle Wings! Stay tuned for some new details and updates today and tomorrow!

One thought on “Chapter II – VI

Leave a Reply

